The Board’s Role

Responsibility for supervising the management of the business and affairs of the YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg lies with the volunteer members of the Board of Directors. As dedicated champions of the YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg’s mission, vision and philanthropic activities, the Board of Directors are elected by voting members of the Association and chosen for their broad range of expertise.

Members of the Board

Group photo of Board Members


YMCA-YWCA of Winnipeg Executive Team

Partnered with our Board of Directors, we are committed to building strong kids, strong families and strong communities.

Cordella Friesen – President and CEO 
Bill Simundson – Vice President, Finance and Risk Management 
Mike Whalen – Vice President, Operations – Health, Fitness, Aquatics and Camping 
Kevin Hunter  – Vice President, Philanthropy, Engagement and Impact 
Caryn LaFleche  – Vice President, Child Care and Development 
Rhian Christie  – Vice President of Strategy and Program Delivery